Nutty Pear and Honey Porridge

It’s fall where I live and all of a sudden the weather turned grey and wet. I like to eat a warm breakfast, especially when the weather is cold.
My mom brought me some pears from her garden this weekend and here is what I did with them:

dsc07140

I made a bit more, because I like to put the leftovers in the fridge for the next day:

Ingredients:

2 pears
2 tablespoons honey (more, if you really like it sweet; or maple syrup, if you don’t do honey)
some water
1 cup of oats
a handful of nuts (I used a mix of walnut, peanut, hazelnut, almond and cashew)
a handful of raisins (or dried cranberries, maybe also dried plums)
a teaspoon of cinnamon

Cube the pears and put them in a pot together with the honey and some water. Bring everything to a boil, stir, then add the cinnamon, oats, nuts and dried fruits.
Stir again, turn off the heat and let the oats soften.
Add more water (or whatever milk you may drink) as needed.

dsc07138

Yum.

I usually make a version of this for breakfast, because it’s fast, cheap, and healthy and you can make enough for the entire week at once. You can also throw in whatever you like, seeds, fruits, nuts, flakes…  I do recommend hazelnuts, though.

I’ve always had a hard time eating a regular breakfast in the mornings, so this is a nice compromise. Enjoy!

 

2 thoughts on “Nutty Pear and Honey Porridge

Leave a Reply

