Shortie but Goodie: Hempseed Chocolate Bites

Apparently, hempseed* is super nutritious, high in protein and healthy fats and works well when sprinkled over smoothie bowls. At least that’s what my best friend since kindergarden served me for breakfast when I stayed with her (it was super healthy and super delicious). Which I don’t eat very often these days, because it is too cold and I want something hot.

So, I bought some hemseed and the stuff has been sitting on my shelf for a while and apart from occasionally putting it in my Müsli I haven’t eaten any of it.

What to do? Add chocolate.

20160227_172512

Hempseed Chocolate Bites

  • 200 g Chocolate (I used a darker one with 50% cocoa)
  • 50-100 g Hempseed
  • 1 tea spoon of Cinnamon

Carefully roast the hempseed in a dry pan or pot, stir often and exercize constant vigilance, they burn fast.

Melt the chocolate in the microwave and add to the seeds, or do it very carefully in the pot. Add cinnamon and stir.

Take a tea spoon and a baking sheet on a tray and drop heaps of about half a tea spoon onto the sheet.

After you’ve finished with the mixture, take the tray to a cool place (yeah, show that tray a good time!) to let it set.

Move to a container of your choice and eat within a week, or freeze.

20160227_172433

It’s delicious, you can use any kind of chocolate you want and add any nuts, seeds or spices you like.

I also made some prettier ones with sprinkles in an ice cube tray greased with coconut butter, to give away as a gift.

20160227_172408~2

 

*They will not make you high, unless you use the “special” variety.

Leave a Reply

